top of page

Marvin and Mint


It's a warm July late morning as I write this and the sound of Marvin Gaye's, "I want you", soars in the room. The day has potential for a lot of activity, but my mind isn't there for it and I let it. As I prepare to settle on the couch, I fix myself a cup of tea. A ritual.

I had recently attended a tea expo and chanced upon a brand called Emrok. It was new to me, looked polished and up-market. The team gave an extremely informative presentation of the whole brand; their history, journey and blends. By the end of it, I could have easily crossed over and joined them in showcasing. Then came the tasting.

See I'd just introduced myself as a tea blogger and their facial expressions had moved between awe and 'how odd' simultaneously. When I drink tea, I take my time, savouring it and the moment, yet here I was, four pairs of eyes over me, searching my taste buds and waiting for my opinion on the spot. That moment reminded me that my integrity and authenticity must be upheld because those elements will always be displayed, and they do not lie.

They had four blends set out for tasting. I decided to start with 'Mystic Jade-Mint'. A shot was poured into a plastic cup and as I took the cup to mouth, I picked up on that fresh mint scent. It was sharp and I hoped the flavour would be as pronounced. I took a sip, swirled, letting it hit all angles of my mouth and swallowed.

Just as I hoped, the mint stood tall. It was not too overbearing like what you would get from a minty piece of gum but it was just enough to slightly transform your breath that way. It's aroma was what got me. It just lingered. In a gentle, most delicate way, it just lingered around me, long after I had put my cup down. I loved that about it and decided to buy it.

Their tea bags are pyramid-shaped, a fantastic feature, so the contents move freely and the flavours are extracted exhaustively in a short time. Their recommended steeping time for it is 2-3 minutes and I can confirm that, unless you want a slightly bitter after-taste, stick to that time. Sweetening it with some honey makes it all the more glorious.

With my little bit of heaven in a cup, I sank into the couch just as Marvin's "Inner City Blues" set the mood for a mellow afternoon

xx

The ultimate tea girl.

Follow me!

  • Grey Instagram Icon
bottom of page